Church Leadership

Every member of the congregation is a leader.  Together we are responsible for the ministries of the church.  And every effort is made to encourage and facilitate involvement in church and community life based on members’ interests, gifts, and passions.  In the past several years we have undertaken a concerted effort to minimize reliance on “standing committees” and, whenever possible, to instead engage task force-based groups to take on particular activities as they arise.

While the congregation as a whole is responsible for its own management and organizational well-being, individuals are elected to provide designated leadership for the work of the church on an ongoing basis.

Church Council is the name we use for the group of elected leaders whose primary charge is to make policy, set direction and transact the business of the church. Council meets regularly on the third Tuesday of each month at 7p.m. and at other times as needed. Council terms are generally three years. Its members are elected at the annual congregational meeting.

Church Council is made up of Elders who form the Spiritual Council and focus on the spiritual life of the congregation, and Deacons who form the Diaconate and tend to financial and institutional matters. Together the Elders and Deacons, relying on the Mission, Vision, and Open and Affirming Statements, strive to move the congregation more fully toward the abundance of life and the vitality of God’s call upon the congregation.

The current Elders are:

Vera Douglass – President
Doug Crowl – Vice President
Sharon Templeton
Megan Dash
Lisa Macurak
Marty Kuchma – PASTOR

The current Deacons are:

Linda Frazee – Secretary
Joe Hamilton – Head Deacon
Carole Scott
Clarence Warner
George Brown

Brady Baldwin – Youth Representative
Brian Alles – Treasurer